Budapest, Liliom u. 41, 1094

Marc Sabat

Violin pieces in just intonation from Bach, through Morton Feldman to the present.

Marc Sabat
Canadian composer of Ukrainian descent Marc Sabat (*1965) has been based in Berlin since 1999. He makes pieces for concert and installation settings, drawing inspiration from investigations of the sounding and perception of Just Intonation and of various music traditions — folk, experimental and classical. Sabat studied composition, violin and mathematics at the University of Toronto, at the Juilliard School in New York, and at McGill University. Together with Wolfgang von Schweinitz he has developed the Extended Helmholtz-Ellis JI Pitch Notation and is a pioneer of music written and performed in microtonal Just Intonation. He teaches composition and the theory and practice of intonation at the Universität der Künste Berlin. Scores and artist editions are available under a creative commons share-alike non-commercial license through Plainsound Music Edition.
“As I’ve been interested in the history and practical usage of different types of tunings – especially just intonations – the work of Marc Sabat seemed crucial for me since the very beginning. First I met his compositions on a nice record entitled Les Duresses published by a small Berlin based label Care Of Editions. His music is completely physical and at the same time very sensitive and with full of emotions. The harmonies in just intonation are totally refreshing and a really new kind of experience to an ear got used to the sounds of equal temperament. On this special night Les Duresses and Sabat’s just intonation arrangements of Bach’s works will be presented, which is really special, because in the time of Bach the so called well-temperament was becoming adopted as an alternative to meantone temperament, which had been used on keyboard instruments since the renaissance.”

Bálint Szabó, curator of the event



  • Marc Sabat: Intonation after Morton Feldman II / Les Duresses
  • Marc Sabat: Duas Quintas / Les Duresses
  • Marc Sabat: Two Commas / Les Duresses
  • Marc Sabat: Sei Bach-Intonazioni per Violino Solo, IIa by Johann Sebastian Bach, Intonation and 2nd voice
  • Marc Sabat: Cucumber Serenades


  • Sara Cubarsi-Fernandez
  • Xenia Gogu
  • Péter Tornyai
  • Gergely Balázs